Creative / Faith / Family

Advent Calendar

My Advent Calendar procrastination has ended! Granted, I finished it yesterday- a staggering day and half before December 1st. That’s how my procrastination rolls.

I realize it’s less than 24 hours away from the beginning of December, and I should have posted this sooner- but like I said, I just finished it myself. So, if procrastination is your thing… and you still want to throw together an Advent calendar, maybe this will help. I put this together in less than 24 hours, so if you’re sitting on the couch watching Netflix tonight, there is still hope. And, I wasn’t thinking about posting anything while I was doing it, so I didn’t exactly stop to take photos during the process. Forgive the quality of the ones I DID take in a hurry today.

Here’s the final product.

DSC_0018

This is the original idea I found on Pinterest. There was no link included in the Pin, unfortunately.

Advent

Here’s how it came together, more or less.

1. I had an empty frame already that I sometimes use as a photography prop. It’s large, but that worked for me. You can make this any size you need. The cheapest way is to use a frame you already have on hand.

2. I bought a piece of Elmer’s foam board that had an adhesive side. I measured the back insert of the frame and used an Exacto knife to cut the foam board to fit the frame.

3. I bought two yards of pre-cut green fabric at Wal-Mart and cut it to slightly overlap the foam board- then ironed it. I think you can find the boards in colors, so you may be able to skip this step if you want to make it really easy.

4. Next, I adhered the fabric to the adhesive side of the board. The adhesive on this board is not that strong, so you can easily reposition it if you mess up. The downside to it not being very strong is that I had to tape the overlap on the back of the board to keep it in place. You could also use a spray adhesive for this step.

5. I used waxed cord (that I already had on hand) and cut the proper length to reach from side to side of the frame. I adhered the ends of the cord to the back of the board with tape. Then, I fit the covered foam board into the frame.

6. To make the pockets, I used a packet of Christmas Scrapbooking paper I already had on hand. This saved a lot of time in decorating 24 pockets! I figured out a template like this (you can play around for the size you need).

DSC_0005

DSC_0008 DSC_0010
DSC_0011

7. The pockets were then hung on the cord with mini clothespins. You could also skip the string and glue them on the board/fabric. I thought about doing a tree design, but opted for hanging them instead.

DSC_0001

DSC_0020

DSC_0019

8. And finally, I came up with a list of 24 ideas/acts, etc. and placed one in each pocket.

Here’s a sample of things our Advent calendar includes.

– Find a special present and open it (Dollar Tree items).

– Make dinner together.

– Make popcorn and watch a Christmas movie.

– Go to a drive-thru and pay for the person behind you.

– Write a note/card and send it to someone.

– Take cookies to a neighbor.

– Do something kind for a stranger.

– Build a fort and have dinner in it.

– Read the Christmas story and act it out.

There are a lot of things you can come up with to do as a family. Since we have a three year old, we threw in a few “treat” things as well.

I have to say, it feels good to finally have an Advent Calendar in the home. I explained it to Drew and he’s so excited to open Number 1 tomorrow! So, even if you can only get one of two days done initially- and you put the rest together over the next few days, don’t let procrastination steal something special from you and your family.

Here’s another easy idea I liked (the photo links to the original post).

IMG_5219_thumb[4]

One thought on “Advent Calendar

I love reading your thoughts and comments. Feel free to share them!

