Family / general

Crawling Out from Under the Rock

I haven’t actually been a hermit the past three months, but it feels like it. In case you missed it…

Jon got a new teaching job at a college in Minnesota. We’ve been trying to move north since Drew was born and the reality of having children and living far from family kind of bitch-slapped us in the face. Kind of like the Minnesota winter is going to do! But I ain’t scared. I knew there was a reason I was hanging onto this extra weight. Now I know. Oh… and there’s also been a recent migration of cougars into the region. I heard a story of a cougar literally dragging a woman away during an attack. After hearing that, I had a slice of cake. I plan on making them work at it.

Then it occurred to me that I’m going to have to layer up more in the winter and at my current form, I’m going to look like the Pillsbury Dough Boy and Aunt Jemima had a daughter. Which reminded me of my last post on 40@40, which I wrote back in April. Needless to say, with our decision to move and the stress of all the details, I’ve not done a single thing to lose a single pound. Maybe one day soon.

So, I plan on being here a little more. I’ve missed being here. Life is busy, but I need a little more fun to break up the seriousness of it all. I need to get the camera out and take a few photos (my header could use a little updating). I have some free time banked up, so maybe I’ll do a photo day soon.

There’s still a ton to do around here… packing up our stuff, making the most of the time we have left in Nashville, ironing out all the final logistics, etc. But all work and no play makes me cranky. And boring. And a little bitchy. Which reminds me to go ahead and pack that iron skillet.

2 thoughts on “Crawling Out from Under the Rock

  1. Sorry, didn`t have my glasses on–I meant going to miss you!! I know it will the right move for the three of you. God bless!

I love reading your thoughts and comments. Feel free to share them!

