Family / Motherhood / Photos

Babies and the Blink of an Eye

Last week, I had the chance to take some photos for my friend, Laura, who just gave birth to this adorable boy two weeks ago.

As the mother of an almost three-year-old, I forget how tiny they are when they come into the world.

Black and White Wednesday

  They are so utterly helpless.

So completely dependent.

So incredibly precious.

A little more than two years after my little guy was born, I have forgotten how he would fit into the cradle of my arm. I have forgotten what it was like to be so completely exhausted, longing for just a few consecutive hours of sleep. I have forgotten how it felt to not shower, or eat a hot meal, or feeling like a milk factory that never closed its doors. It’s amazing how quickly those memories fade away.

And in the blink of an eye, that tiny, helpless, little one is not only walking, but strutting.

Climbing rocks…

…and jumping.

He’s still adorable and sweet, but he doesn’t want to be dependent. He’s strong-willed, taking his own path, and I’m lucky if he even looks back to see if I’m behind him.

How quickly it goes by.

That’s what I love about photography. My mind can’t always hold onto those moments, but if I capture them, they’ll never fully be forgotten.

2 thoughts on “Babies and the Blink of an Eye

I love reading your thoughts and comments. Feel free to share them!

