Photos / Scavenger Hunt Sunday

Scavenger Hunt Sunday (4)

I hope you all had a good week and weekend. We’re leaving Monday morning to drive to DC for the week to spend Thanksgiving with my sweet mother-in-law. So, it’s been a hectic week and weekend to say the least. I didn’t really have a lot of time to dedicate to taking pictures, but I realized this week that if I were to wait until I DO have time, I’d never take a single photo. Therefore, I decided to make time. Taking pictures makes me happy. I can make time for that!

This week’s prompts were:

1. Mainly One Color

I know. This isn’t exactly the concept, but I LOVED this little, red leaf. It’s one of the last leaves left on our blueberry bush. So, it’s mainly the last leaf… and it’s mainly red. See what I mean?

2. Around the Home

Tea, anyone? I’ll admit – I wasn’t actually making tea. I noticed how the light was hitting the kettle this morning and I quickly threw some water in it and turned it on.

and then, she {snapped}

3. Reflection

At first I had this great reflection of Drew in this black, marble globe that rotates at Bicentennial Mall. Then I decided I needed to try at least one post without pictures of my child. Man, is that hard! I love taking photos of that kid. So, as I was at the grocery store tonight, I got this of the turnips. You know… they usually have mirrors above the produce section. That’s what this is.

4. Writing

My Mawmaw Effie (that’s right) was a spunky little woman who stood all of 5 feet tall. Tonight, I came across these letters she wrote me when my family moved overseas for a while when I was in high school. She died three years later. I think these are the only handwritten notes I have from her.

5. Water

I’m actually including two photos for this one. One that is clearly water, and the other that is more abstract. Here’s the first from a fountain.

Here’s the second, which I’m including because I love my husband… and he liked this one because of the color (which I popped, of course). It was taken while we were driving through the car wash this week. This one’s for Jon.

If you’re not participating in Ashley’s Scavenger Hunt, you should be!

Next week’s prompts:

  1. Waiting
  2. Foliage
  3. Candid
  4. Knife, Fork or Spoon
  5. Rules of Thirds

15 thoughts on “Scavenger Hunt Sunday (4)

  1. Jon was right, it is a great photo. It was fun looking at it and trying to figure out where it was taken. Never would have guessed correctly. 🙂 Great shots. Inspiring.

  2. TOTALLY lovin’ that “around the home” capture! And how brilliant of you to notice the lighting and take advantage of it AND…get a cup of tea in the process 🙂

    Kathy

  3. Wonderful series! They are all so terrific it is hard to pick a favorite. I thought it would be the tea kettle but then came the rest and they are all so appealing. Hope you had a great Thanksgiving.

I love reading your thoughts and comments. Feel free to share them!

