Photos / Scavenger Hunt Sunday / Uncategorized

Scavenger Hunt Sunday (1)

I’m excited that I finally got my act together and committed to participate in Scavenger Hunt Sunday, hosted by Ashley, over at Ramblings and Photos. I’ve been stalking her site for a couple of weeks and she was even kind enough to refer me to several resources for Photoshop Elements tutorials, etc. My sweet friend, Kristi, also gave me a hands-on rundown of some VERY helpful information as well. I still have so much to learn but I don’t feel quite as overwhelmed by it all.

This week’s Scavenger Hunt Prompts: Macro/Close-Up, Found Texture, Home, Cover and Tree

1. Macro/Close-Up

We went for a walk at Radnor Lake today and came across these leaves that had fallen on a wooden bench. I don’t have a Macro lens, or an extension, but this was taken with the Macro setting on my camera.

2. Found Texture

This is the surface of a light bulb from our flood light out back. I thought the tinting made it more interesting than it actually is.

3. Home

My sweet neighbor brought me flowers a couple of days ago. They are definitely brightening up our home! And, in honor of Halloween, I included another “Home” shot of our pumpkins on the front steps. I wanted to see what the Watercolor Filter would do to it and I decided to leave it.

4. Cover

This was a tough one and it had me stumped. I decided to pull out a photo from our trip to New Orleans a couple of weeks ago. I guess the beauty of the Scavenger Hunt is that each prompt is open to interpretation. And, in my faith, the beauty of the cross is that it covers my sins.

5. The Tree

It was uncharacteristically foggy this morning. I have been wanting to capture this tree for a the past couple of weeks. It stands right outside our back door, towering above our house and providing shade for our deck. One of the things I love about our house is that it is surrounded by mature trees. Sadly, this one has a rotting trunk and we have commissioned someone to cut it down. I’m so glad I got this shot before it’s gone.

I can’t wait to try it again next week! If you’re interested, grab your camera and link up with Ashley.

17 thoughts on “Scavenger Hunt Sunday (1)

  1. I’m glad you decided to participate. I found it to be a very addicting challenge, which comes with a feeling of satisfaction when completing all the prompts. All your pics are great, but I especially love the last one!

  2. WOW- I love your texture & then your one for cover- but then I got to the last one- the whole thing- from the composition to the colors to the whole feeling it gives me when I look at it & all the things that it brings to mind- I love it!

  3. Very nice set of prompts. I really like the carved pumpkins and that tree! So nice you got a great photo before it has to go. But, I really like your interpretation for cover, this image is so very stunning and moving!!

  4. Love your photo from New Orleans! What a great way to interpret that prompt. Your tree photo is great as well. We have a huge, mature tree in our yard that needs to come down as well. It’s a nuisance but I will be sad when it comes down, it’s been there my entire life!

  5. Thanks everyone. I plan to check out each of your photos as soon as I get a chance. I can’t wait to participate again and to also see what everyone else comes up with next week. What a great way to get connected to other people who love photos as much as I do!

  6. Gorgeous set, I love your macro, the autumn leaves are beautiful and the wooden deck is an interesting texture too. Tree is so moody and interesting, I love window views! Cover is an awesome shot and great interpretation! Cool pumpkins too.
    The CoffeeShop Blog was wonderful resource when I was learning to use PSE8. But it looks like you have it well under control.

    • Thanks, Sara. I have definitely been visiting The CoffeeShop Blog… what a great resource it has been! It may look like I have things under control, but I still have so much to learn! Fake it till you make it, right? šŸ˜‰ Thanks for your comments!

I love reading your thoughts and comments. Feel free to share them!

