Family / Married Life

Marriage Monday – Dwell on the Good

I confess – I have a lot of pet peeves. And sometimes… okay, often… it feels like Jon does every one of them. Those dirty dishes left on the counter don’t exactly stir up warm and fuzzy emotions. And, once I start focusing on those little annoyances, I’m suddenly bothered by the way he even breathes. Feel free to own it, ladies.

Sometimes when we live so intimately with someone, we let our feelings toward our spouse be more defined by annoying habits than by our affection for their character. I don’t know about you, but I spend more time dwelling on those behaviors than I do on the things I love about my husband.

So, this week, I’m going to focus more on what I love about my husband… not his habits that drive me bat crap crazy. He’s a wonderful man – loving, sensitive, kind, caring, loyal… and much more. He does a lot of great things that I often under appreciate. He’s my best friend and I love him far more than I love having a clean kitchen counter.

With that said, let’s do ourselves, our spouses, and our marriages a favor this week and remember why we love that person who shares
every moment of our lives with us.

Philippians 4:8
Finally, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, dwell on these things.

One thought on “Marriage Monday – Dwell on the Good

I love reading your thoughts and comments. Feel free to share them!

