Married Life

Marriage Monday – A Thoughtful Gesture

I’m late but technically it’s still Monday, so I’m going for it. On Mondays, I’m going to try and focus on a marriage related topic. I don’t think one can put too much work into marriage.

As part of my self-improvement plan (I’m till working on a new name for it), I’m focusing on ways to be a better wife and how Jon and I together can strengthen our marriage.

I think this haircut screams “love & devotion” but he wouldn’t go with it. Apparently he doesn’t care about street cred.

Haircuts and tattoos aside, this week’s goal is simple: Make an effort to do something thoughtful for your spouse.

Sometimes Jon leaves me post it notes on the bathroom mirror, or on my computer, or on the fridge. I have put notes in his lunch bag, or dropped by his office with a card for no other reason than to let him know I’m thinking about him. It’s a small gesture that can have a big impact on our day.

So, this week, do something to let your husband or wife know you’re thinking about him/her. Write a note. Call them during the day if you normally don’t. Send a thoughtful text. Give a backrub. Bake some cookies. Bring flowers home. Love them in little ways. It doesn’t really matter what it is as long as it’s something you don’t normally do on a regular basis. Let them know you thought of them. Don’t assume they know you do.

If you’re not married, do something thoughtful for someone in your life. Everyone needs to know someone cares.

If you want to share some of your ideas for thoughtful gestures, feel free. Maybe it will stir up some creativity for someone else. Or maybe I just need something new to do. The haircut was, sadly, my highest peak of creativity.

I love reading your thoughts and comments. Feel free to share them!

