Family / Motherhood

Today too soon becomes tomorrow.

Sometimes I stand over his bed and watch him sleep. I suppose when he’s twelve that will be as creepy as it sounds. But for now, he’s not twelve. For now, he still sleeps in a crib. He still wants me to kiss him goodnight and tuck him in. Today, he still wants me to play with him, to hold him “up high,” to kiss his boo-boo, and he still wants to sit on my lap when we read books or cuddle in the rocking chair. It feels like yesterday when he needed me to nurse him and rock him to sleep.

One day, he’ll be twelve tomorrow. So, I’m going to savor today – because tomorrow will come soon enough.

I love reading your thoughts and comments. Feel free to share them!

