Family / Motherhood / womanhood

Motherhood: Selfish need not apply.

I have just spent the past several hours cleaning up vomit. Off of the couch. Off of the floor. Off of my son’s clothes, and off of mine.

Motherhood is not a glamorous job.

I have cuddled and comforted. My arms are tired. My back aches. My neck is sore.

Motherhood is not for the weak.

I often have crushed Cheerios in my purse. I find Goldfish crackers in my t-shirt drawer. I constantly wipe spills, pick up toys, discipline, teach, and pretend to ignore whining.

Motherhood is not for the faint of heart.

The hours are ruthless. The paycheck is non-existent. There are no sick days, no vacation, and no retirement plan. Mothers are overworked and underappreciated. Many of the things we do on a daily basis go unnoticed. In the corporate world, no one would apply for such a job.

Why do we do it?

 

photo by Chirastar, FCC

 Answering that question is the easiest part of motherhood. LOVE. Love that makes us feel like our heart just may explode. Love that compels us to value someone else more than ourselves. Love that propels us past selfishness, into joyful sacrifice. Love that is blind to vomit, and exhaustion, and dirty purses, or whining. Love that cuddles, and comforts, and teaches, and gives us what we need to persevere through exhaustion. Love that is grateful that God has entrusted us with such a blessing.

4 thoughts on “Motherhood: Selfish need not apply.

  1. So, when Jen was talking to a friend about how motherhood is not glamorous, I contributed my thoughts on the subject by saying, “Fatherhood ROCKS.”

  2. When I had three in diapers, someone said, “These are the golden years!” At that point, I said, “Well if these are the golden years, I’m going to kill myself.” Here I am with three adult children, saying, “THESE ARE THE GOLDEN YEARS, but there are many more to come!

I love reading your thoughts and comments. Feel free to share them!

