Family / Married Life / Motherhood / womanhood

Any Way You Add It

I know- I’ve been gone a while.  Noted.  It’s a good thing I just do this for fun and I’m not one of those successful mommy-bloggers who support their families with their blog ad revenue.  My sponsors would have dropped me faster than Lindsay Lohan fails a drug test.  I’m sure my readers have all but quit checking for updates.  Maybe I can bribe you all with a dollar to return.  So, that would be what?  About eight quarters?  I don’t really like working with numbers and words are worth a thousand dollars, which is worth more than a picture because who has time to read a thousand words?  Let me just say, “I’m sorry” to the two of you and let’s move on.

I’ve had a lot on my plate lately.  No, I don’t go out into the workforce each day.  Some days I don’t get out of my PJs until the afternoon- it makes it easier to take naps. This isn’t really sounding like I intended.  Let’s try this again.

School started back in August which means ironing re-entered my life.  You know, those shirts and pants that say “wrinkle free”… are they being sarcastic?  It’s a cruel joke really.  Anyway, along with housekeeping, grocery shopping, lawn care, cooking, laundry, and caring for and molding another human being, I have to fit ironing back into my week.  Oh, I forgot to mention Drew!  That’s a joke, but if you have a husband you probably didn’t think a thing about it.  Okay, ironing probably isn’t ruining my life… it’s like fifteen extra hours a week.  Again, I don’t like numbers but it’s probably something like that.  Give or take thirty minutes.  I could be overestimating.  A little.

I’m also in the process of creating two more nursery rooms.  It takes a lot of time to pick out paint colors, rugs, accessories, toys, supplies, etc.  There’s research involved, price-comparisons, budget considerations.  Again, the NUMBERS!!  I know.  You’re wondering if you missed something.  Some announcement.  Some news.  And yet you’re realizing there may be a legitimate reason I’m still overweight when Drew is 15-months old.  There is.  I don’t exercise enough.  And I eat too much.  It has something to do with how many calories go in versus how many are burned.  These damn numbers are ruining my life!  But back to the nursery rooms…  I volunteered to remodel the children’s rooms at church.  It seems I’m the most qualified since I have the only child who’s been in the church in the past 30 years.  I’m not even kidding.  The crib is so old it no longer meets safety regulations.  The bookcase is a cardboard box, covered in floral contact paper.  I feel confident that was a Vacation Bible School project back in the 70’s.  It has to go.  If anyone is interested let me know and maybe we can work something out.  It’s practically an antique.

Well, it’s good to be back but it’s now after 11:00pm and the boy will be waking up around 6:30am, so that’s… oh hell, I’m going to bed.

2 thoughts on “Any Way You Add It

  1. Glad you’re back. I’m not going to judge what you do with your time or your math skills . . . I just like to read what you write. 🙂

I love reading your thoughts and comments. Feel free to share them!

