Married Life / Motherhood / womanhood

Bathroom Break at 3:12pm

You may have noticed I haven’t been around for a while.  Or maybe you haven’t noticed, which probably means you have better things to do with your time.  Kudos to you!  I realized I needed to spend less time on the computer after Drew walked up and tried to close my laptop.  About 20 times.  Subtlety is not his strong suit.

I’ve also noticed that I’m not very effective at managing my time anymore.  Since I quit my job to stay home and raise Drew, my days are less than structured.  I’ve kind of relaxed into the spontaneity of it all.  So much so that when someone wants to me commit or schedule something at a particular time, I feel like I’m eight again and my mom won’t let me go play with my friends unless I invite my younger sister along.  It’s a pain.

My days don’t feel as productive as I’d like considering the massive number of things that are constantly on my “to do” list.  So, I’ve decided to start scheduling my days.  Jon printed a worksheet for me that should help me plan the things I want to get done.  It’s not that he cares if the house is clean or the lawn is mowed.  This is a man who stored his laundry on a spare couch before we got married.  I knew this about him.  So, I gave the spare couch away.  And he knows that I need to make the bed first thing in the morning- even if he was only getting up to go to the bathroom and planned on getting back in bed.  Subtlety is not my strong suit.

So, I have my chart and I’m hoping to get into more of a rhythm of productivity- cleaning, working on projects, blogging, etc.  I’m not scheduling every moment of my day, mind you.  I like being able to plop down on the floor and tickle Drew on a whim or teach him how to stack blocks, then knock them down.  I like being able to jump on Facebook for a few minutes to comment about all the things I should be doing while I’m sitting on the couch with my computer.  But I don’t like looking at the clock and realizing the only thing I’ve accomplished all day is changing the toilet paper roll.  I need loftier goals in my day!

Tomorrow seemed like a good day to start my new schedule but since it’s now 10pm and I haven’t even started making the schedule… and Jon is challenging me in some Wii Fit games… Saturday may have to do.  Do you see what I’m talking about, people?  I.  Have.  Problems.

One thought on “Bathroom Break at 3:12pm

I love reading your thoughts and comments. Feel free to share them!

