womanhood

Getting Tips Back from my Hair Stylist

I love getting a haircut.  It only happens about four times a year, but I savor the experience every time.  Nowadays, it’s one of the few times I get to sit still for any length of time, be pampered a bit, and can truly relax because my attention isn’t required elsewhere.  I love the scalp and neck massage and having my hair cleaned without lifting an arm, and the smell of quality hair products that make me regret buying a cheap brand because I had a coupon and could get a gallon of shampoo for $5.  I’ve never been a loyal shampoo brand user.  Whatever is on sale is usually what ends up in my shower.  Until recently.

Several months ago my hair stylist left the profession to become a nurse.  Most women understand what a traumatic experience losing your stylist can be.  Putting my hair in the hands of someone new is a scary experience.  I was so reluctant I think I went six months without so much as a trim.  I finally found someone I had casually known through church a few years ago.  After two visits, I am more educated about my hair than I ever have been.  What have I been paying people for in the past?  Why did none of my previous stylist ever take the time to give me “tips”?  I gave them some.

Things I’ve recently learned about taking care of my hair:

  1. Wash it in cold water.  I think I kind of knew this one, but I really didn’t realize the importance of it.  Those hot showers I like to take?  They damage my hair.  No wonder it feels and looks like straw.
  2. Blot the excess water out before applying conditioner.  It makes sense when I think about it, but I wouldn’t have just happened upon this thought myself.
  3. When I color my hair myself (which I do because I’m gray… and frugal), don’t pull the color through the length of the strand.  It causes the color to build up on the ends, which would explain the two-tone look I recently sported.

Maybe I’m just hair illiterate and most people know these things already.  Share the wisdom, people.  There are two-toned, straw-haired people out there who need you!

I’ve also gone over to the dark-side.  I now splurge on hair products – Aveda to be exact.  It goes against every frugal bone in my body, but as I type this I smell the glorious scent of quality in my hair and I don’t miss a penny spent.

I also found this great tip on homemade hair color on Pancakes & French Fries recently.  I probably agree with Jules that my gray would be too stubborn for it, but I’m intrigued and may have to try it.

If you know some other hair care tips, I’d love to hear them.

5 thoughts on “Getting Tips Back from my Hair Stylist

  1. You know, for the last year I have used cheap hair products thinking it would save me money. I went back to Aveda just last month and my hair is slowly getting healthier. I think sometimes you have to spend a little money to save a little money.

  2. I don’t have any hair tips, but my former hairdresser is getting ready to be pinned as a nurse in May (and I don’t think we went to the same person). It was traumatic to find a new stylist and I finally ended up at a pricier place, and also feel guilty about the money I’m spending on the services and on the product. But we’re worth it, right? 🙂

  3. I just remind myself of how infrequently I splurge on anything. As moms, we tend to take care of everyone else first- so I think we all deserve a little pampering now and then- even if it is just shampoo.

  4. I’m a pretty selfish person and non-mom and I *still* don’t spend money on my hair… maybe I’ll extend my selfishness on over to the top of my head… thanks for the inspiration to SPEND! Hubby will be thrilled! 🙂

I love reading your thoughts and comments. Feel free to share them!

